Call on the Maryland DNC Delegation to Demand that Medicare-For-All Be included in the DNC platform!

Maryland Progressive Healthcare Coalition, representing over 30 state and national organizations, calls on Maryland voters to sign this petition, asking Maryland Delegates to the DNC to vote against any Democratic party platform that does not include a plank supporting universal, single-payer, New and Improved Medicare for All.

WHEREAS, pre-pandemic, the number of Americans without health insurance was nearly 30 million, while more than 40 million Americans remained under-insured, despite important gains made since the implementation of the Affordable Care Act; and

WHEREAS, the World is currently in the throes of a catastrophic public health crisis; the U.S., with only 4% of the global population, tragically has 25% of all COVID-19 cases and deaths; and

WHEREAS, this public health emergency has resulted in over 40 million American job losses accompanied by loss of employer-based insurance; and 

WHEREAS, millions of Americans have lost their healthcare insurance because of those job losses at a time when healthcare is needed most; and

WHEREAS, this crisis has highlighted the need to separate healthcare from employment; and

WHEREAS, our current, for-profit health care system is inherently racist and discriminatory; and

WHEREAS, the never-ending rising costs of health care add challenges to our already strapped municipal budget and our small businesses, which keep our communities thriving; and

WHEREAS, 209 economists have signed a public statement supporting Medicare for All citing billions of dollars in healthcare savings; and

WHEREAS, we believe that healthcare is a basic human right, not a privilege or a luxury; and

WHEREAS, recent polls show that 69% of registered voters including 88% of registered Democrats now believe that a universal, single-payer, Medicare-For-All system is the best way to achieve equitable, affordable and accessible healthcare for all Americans; and

WHEREAS, the Democratic Party and their Platform Committee process has failed, to date, to incorporate a clear and progressive platform plank for Medicare-For-All for adoption by the 2020 National Convention; therefore

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the undersigned Democratic voters express their enthusiastic support for the Medicare for All Act of 2019 (H.R. 1384 and S. 1129). We call upon our delegates to the Democratic Convention, in alignment with the majority of Democrats in the House of Representatives who co-sponsored the Medicare for All Act of 2019, to pledge to only vote for a 2020 Platform that includes a universal, single-payer, Medicare-For-All, platform plank.

Who's signing

Ian gunzelmam
Brian Sevilla
Kalin Pearce
Sandra Thomas
Andrea Pierce
Sarah Bluher
Catherine Bodin
Jared Schablein
Shirley Parry
Sunny Kanneganti
Lisa and Stand
Kurt Stand
Emma McTague
Annette Breiling
Jean Cushman
Thomas Wilson
Christine McLaughlin
Kathy Bartolomeo
Charlie Cooper
Eric Erickson
Natalie Robinson
Stephen Bruns
Angel Ames
Neena Roderick
Joseph Sparks
Rebecca Houck
Jack Ramey
Keisha Shepherd
Adrian Rakochi
gretchen willging
1,000 signatures

Will you sign?

  • Ian gunzelmam
    signed 2020-08-03 20:28:04 -0400
  • Brian Sevilla
    signed 2020-08-03 20:22:00 -0400
  • Kalin Pearce
    signed 2020-08-03 20:20:30 -0400
  • Sandra Thomas
    signed 2020-08-03 20:05:37 -0400
  • Andrea Pierce
    signed 2020-08-03 19:23:24 -0400
  • Sarah Bluher
    signed 2020-08-03 17:26:55 -0400
    We did not need COVID to tell us that Medicare for All is a necessity. COVID simply makes that truth more painful.
  • Catherine Bodin
    signed 2020-08-03 16:29:59 -0400
  • Jared Schablein
    signed via 2020-08-03 15:51:47 -0400
  • Shirley Parry
    signed 2020-08-03 12:24:35 -0400
  • Sunny Kanneganti
    signed 2020-08-03 10:20:12 -0400
  • Lisa and Stand
    signed 2020-08-03 09:09:58 -0400
  • Kurt Stand
    signed 2020-08-03 08:27:03 -0400
  • Emma McTague
    signed 2020-08-03 00:43:11 -0400
  • Annette Breiling
    signed 2020-08-02 23:57:58 -0400
  • Jean Cushman
    signed 2020-08-02 22:31:54 -0400
  • Thomas Wilson
    signed 2020-08-02 22:23:31 -0400
  • Christine McLaughlin
    signed 2020-08-02 20:21:15 -0400
  • Kathy Bartolomeo
    signed 2020-08-02 19:38:04 -0400
  • Charlie Cooper
    signed 2020-08-02 18:45:31 -0400
  • Eric Erickson
    signed 2020-08-02 18:16:32 -0400
  • Natalie Robinson
    signed via 2020-08-02 17:57:41 -0400
  • Stephen Bruns
    signed 2020-08-02 17:55:35 -0400
  • Angel Ames
    signed via 2020-08-02 16:44:49 -0400
  • Neena Roderick
    signed 2020-08-02 16:26:05 -0400
  • Joseph Sparks
    signed 2020-08-02 16:24:10 -0400
  • Rebecca Houck
    signed 2020-08-02 16:06:45 -0400
  • Jack Ramey
    signed 2020-08-02 15:59:32 -0400
  • Keisha Shepherd
    signed 2020-08-02 15:42:34 -0400
  • Adrian Rakochi
    signed 2020-08-02 15:41:48 -0400
  • gretchen willging
    signed 2020-08-02 15:37:12 -0400

Contact Us Take Action Spread The Word